Definitive Ubuntu 8.10 artwork

I decided to beat the rush and install the Beta of Ubuntu 8.10 this evening, because you just know that when it’s officially released, the servers will be slow.
At first I was greeted with the Beta artwork, which I found slightly disappointing, as have others before me.

A massive update (over 400 MB) changed some things though. The NewHuman theme has been renamed DarkRoom, but I don’t really see other changes, apart from the name.

The dark, but non-default, DarkRoom theme

The dark, but non-default, DarkRoom theme

Another change is the title in Grub, which changes from “Ubuntu Intrepid (development branch)” to “Ubuntu 8.10”, the official name of the upcoming release. It’s not a big change of course, but it does indicate that there aren’t any major changes left before the official release.

But the biggest, and most pleasant change for me was the default wallpaper, which was a boring brown swirl of balls (seriously), and now looks like this:

The new, fantastic Intrepid Ibex wallpaper

The new, fantastic Intrepid Ibex wallpaper

It looks like a fairly rough wall, with an almost prehistoric painting of an Ibex on the left, which despite the sketchiness of the drawing almost seems to sparkle with life. While it isn’t the drastic, new look that was promised for 8.10, it’s definitely a step up from the artwork of the alpha and beta releases.

San

16 Responses to Definitive Ubuntu 8.10 artwork

  1. M says:

    I love the new wallpaper, and I have gotten used to DarkRoom and this is the first time I use the default theme and wallpaper for Ubuntu. 🙂

  2. Milhouse says:

    Very nice abstract picture of Ibex! Thx!

  3. claudius says:

    this is the spirit of ubuntu. I like it much. Good work and many thanks to painter of new, fantastic Intrepid Ibex wallpaper 😉

  4. Steel says:

    Don’t confuse people. The second screenshot is NOT a new look! It has different panels with background which gives panels more 3D look. New panels are transparent a bit, too.

  5. Just testing says:

    That’s it, I’m using your blog to do a test.
    Sorry!

  6. celettu says:

    Steel:

    Not sure what you’re on about. That’s a screenshot of a default install of Intrepid Beta, upgraded fully on the 22nd of October. I haven’t done anything with the panels.

  7. […] As you may guess from my previous post, I like the default wallpaper of the upcoming Ubuntu 8.10 (Intrepid Ibex) quite a bit. I was […]

  8. […] during the install. In the end, it installed anyway and worked fine. That’s where I got my previous screenshots from. The RC was a clean install, and I’ve been using it for about ten days. The idea was to […]

  9. Shiva says:

    Hi,

    Very Nice.Ubuntu Beats all other OS in Graphics. It Swallowed Wista Graphics ..

    With Rgds,
    Shiva

  10. Shiva says:

    Hi,

    Very Nice.Ubuntu Beats all other OS in Graphics. It Swallowed Vista Graphics ..

    With Rgds,
    Shiva

  11. cheshicle says:

    Hi your website is cute
    I have a new band and we just had a live gig you can see here:
    http://tinyurl.com/a6olap

  12. you are actually a good webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a fantastic activity on this topic!

  13. Grant Ankrum says:

    Hello there, I found your web site by means of Google at the same time as searching for a related matter, your web site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  14. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with helpful info to paintings on. You have performed a formidable task and our entire group shall be grateful to you.

Leave a comment