Oh Windows 7, you tease

Anyone who has read this blog lately probably knows that I’m a bit dissatisfied with my Linux installs lately. Arch + GNOME boots much too slowly. Arch + XFCE ran fine until Banshee didn’t want to boot anymore. Arch + KDE…can’t remember at the moment. Some small niggling thing that bugged me disproportionally. In Ubuntu and Mint Banshee didn’t detect all of my music collection and Rhythmbox showed import errors. OpenSuse ran fine until I tried to upgrade it to KDE 4.5. After that it didn’t run at all.

There was always something. It irritated me so much I contemplated the impossible: switching back to Windows.

I have to use XP at work and I don’t like it at all, but it doesn’t bug me as much as it used to. I also follow a course in configuring Windows 7, and 7 is also installed on my girlfriend’s LT. I like it a lot. It’s beautiful, fast, and it works.
Then, I bought Starcraft 2, and instead of trying to play it in Wine I installed Windows 7 on a separate partition and used that. Needless to say, I absolutely love it, so another chance for Windows to shine.
Finally, my favourite Twitter client, Tweetdeck, refused to work in Arch, runs very slow in Ubuntu + derivates and runs just fine in Windows. Wasn’t it time for me to end this silly crusade and simply switch back to what’s easy?

Of course, then I noticed I couldn’t add the network printer, no matter what I tried. Not that I can try much, mind you. Endlessly clicking “Rescan” doesn’t need much intelligence, nor does it yield much results. The same problem was solved on my girlfriend’s LT. by installing the 130MB (!!) driver from HP, but it didn’t work on my PC.

And then my CD-DVD drive disappeared after a Windows Update, never to return. I Googled it, Troubleshooted it, Device Managered it, Registried it, and in the end, Shouted at it. Nothing works.

What was I thinking?

Sander

6 Responses to Oh Windows 7, you tease

  1. tomass says:

    Good post, had a good laugh :DDD

  2. Fitzcarraldo says:

    It’s luck of the draw, really. Depends on what hardware and software you happen to have. Sometimes I have hassle with Linux, sometimes I have hassle with Windows. Lately I seem to have more hassle with Windows, though.

    I dual boot 64-bit Sabayon Linux and 64-bit Windows 7 Professional. There is no Windows 7 driver for my HP ScanJet 3400C scanner, and it doesn’t work in Compatibility Mode. And there is no 64-bit Windows 7 driver for my Epson Stylus Photo 950 printer, either. Both peripherals work fine under 64-bit Linux.

    The other day I tried to use Windows 7 Backup and Restore and Windows 7 crashed to a BSOD. I rebooted and Windows 7 informed me it was about to start a disk check… and then froze. In the end the only way I could recover the installation was to use a Windows 7 Installation Disc and run chkdsk from the command line. It was just like using Linux!

  3. GregE says:

    As Fitzcarraldo said it comes down to the combination of hardware that you have, and for what purposes you use your computer. With hardware I make it a rule to Google first then buy.

    I have an absolute requirement for Samba functionality as I have two WDTV media players, a dedicated media PC and a D-Link DNS 323 network attached storage. I do not play any serious 3d games, but still love Microsoft’s Return to the Arcade (Windows 95/98) that needs directx3. Return to the Arcade runs fine under wine and refuses to even install in newer Windows.

    I have tried multiple distros since the 90s, over and over as new versions are released. I have insisted on using 64bit and working around the issues. I have stared at disbelief when k3b has refused to burn DVDs at anything but 4x – on and off for years.

    I could never live in the walled garden of the Mac and long ago got fed up with the constant battle with malware under Windows.

    In the end there is only one distro that works consistently for me and that is Ubuntu and the 32bit version. I have a test install of Fedora 13 on a spare machine and as a stand alone computer it seems very good, but it will not play nicely (so far, I am a Fedora newbie) on my Samba network. Debian Squeeze is the same, good on it’s own but forget Samba. Ubuntu on the other hand has no issues and can stream around my network and play nicely with all the peripherals.

    I use aTunes for music playing and only use Rhythmbox to add remove music from my Creative Zen. My Android phone is just drag and drop. My Creative VadoHD is plug’n’play and I can view and edit the videos without issue. I have other gadgets like a GPS for my laptop. They all work but then I always “Google first”.

    k3b still shows crazy settings, but does at least now burn at higher speeds – and the Lightscribe (32bit only) software actually works. My Canon MP640 prints and scans across the network and is rock solid (drivers from Canon Europe).

    All of my family’s computers now run 32bit Ubuntu except one that is testing Fedora. Ubuntu is not perfect, but is less not perfect than the others I have tried – with my hardware and for my purposes. I have no doubt i will return to 64bit at some point, when I know everything will work without hassles.

  4. thejungleonline says:

    To be honest I have nothing but issues with Windows 7, the current installs need re-installing after they both BSOD and I cannot be bothered to re-install them.

    I’ll keep my Linux installs as they just work and to be honest in the last 2 years I have not had any real issues that compare to the complete fail of 7. Even ancient XP well and truly shone by comparison.

  5. Jozen says:

    I’ve been using PCs (including Apple) for almost 20 years. I have tried Linux since 1996, Mandriva, I think. I stayed with Windows until I found Ubuntu (8.04 if I remember correctly). I do occassionally play 3d games so I have kept a Windows 7 partition… but if I had to have only one OS, it will probably always be Debian.

    Why Debian? — So many reasons, the most practical being its multiple kernels (Linux/Hurd/FreBSD) and multiple architecture support (ARM/PPC/x86/SPARC/Etc). I know that I can take Debian wherever I go. Also, the Debian Project is known to favor stability over all else. I think its great, and obviously so did Canonical because its based on Debian too.

  6. I just couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info an individual provide on your visitors? Is going to be again incessantly in order to check out new posts

Leave a Reply

