KDE 4.1: Can I have one of those?

My reaction to KDE 4 up till now can be summarized in one word:

Meh.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m the “end-user”. I don’t download alpha en beta versions of distributions to hunt for bugs. I just wait for the product to be finished, then use it. That makes me something of a leech in some people’s eyes, but I’m on limited bandwith, thank you very much 🙂

From my point of view, installing KDE 4.0 made no sense. I was happy using KDE 3.5 at the time, and 4.0 would be a stem down in usability and stability. Reading the reviews that popped up everywhere, I think I was right. As time went by, and I switched from KDE to Openbox, I doubted I’d ever install KDE again.

But now I’ve seen this screencast (beware, 70+MB download), as I’m sure almost everyone has by now, and I’m impressed. When 4.1 comes out, I’ll definitely try it out, if only to see if it’s fast enough to my tastes.

All said and done, props to the KDE-guys, who had the guts to break something that worked, in order to create something new and (possibly? hopefully?) better. I’ll be keeping an eye out.

San

3 Responses to KDE 4.1: Can I have one of those?

  1. nongeekboy says:

    I installed kde 4.0 on my PC because it looked very nice but after a few days I switched back to GNOME-to many bugs. Thx for the screencast link. When kde4.1 will come out, I will give it a try. I only hope that it will be more stable than 4.0

  2. celettu says:

    nongeekboy:

    Less stable will be difficult 😉 When I try it out, I’ll post the results.

  3. […] This might seem strange, since I’ve been raving about the way KDE 4 looks since the very beginning.  To clarify, I have no problem whatsoever with Plasma, which looks […]

Leave a comment