My take on the whole Ubuntu hullapalooza

Basically, I agree with everything in this article.

There, that was easy🙂

San

6 Responses to My take on the whole Ubuntu hullapalooza

  1. Kevin Benko says:

    As I am a Debian user, I generally ignore Ubuntu. I’ve heard some rumblings with respect to the new Ubuntu interface design, but didn’t really look into it until now.

    Is this what it’s all about?
    The three damn buttons on the damn windows?!?!?

    Now, after about 5 years, I still haven’t decided on what windowing/desktop manager to stick with. I flip between KDE4, fluxbox, icewm, E-16, and E-17. And with some of the available themes for E-16, it is generally anyone’s guess *where* those damn buttons are and how they are ordered. I have even gone so far as to write a startup script that randomizes the theme…. chaos and confusion are fun!

    Geez!

    I. Am. A. Linux. User!

    I don’t *want* things to be “traditional”, not even the damn window buttons!

    Learn.
    Adapt.
    Evolve.

  2. Guilherme de Sousa says:

    totally agree with you Kevin.

    “Learn.
    Adapt.
    Evolve.”

    thats my way also!

  3. celettu says:

    Kevin:

    Thank you😉

  4. Martin says:

    Hear, hear! I’m fed up with people bi***ing about FOSS (especially OpenOffice over MS Office). If you don’t like it, don’t use it, and kiss your savings account goodbye. But don’t bash it – the fact that it is free and community-developed gives people no right to do so. Instead of complaining, do what the clever PPA guy did and get involved – present a solution to the problem.

    Would you complain about free Mars bars?

  5. Kevin Benko says:

    Martin: Thank you for reminding me of something important about Linux that I forgot [as I smack myself in the forehead].

    The free in FOSS thing is not (just) about price, it’s about explicitly having the ability to change the software.

    For example: I compile my own kernels so I can set the CONFIG_HZ value to 1000 on my desktop systems and to 100 on my servers. (I cannot recall if the default is 300 or 250) This sets the frequency at which the kernel checks for input, making the desktop systems more responsive and the servers less “distracted”. I can do this because Linux explicitly gives me the ability to change the kernel in this manner. And this is why I love the penguin!

    So, the ability to make changes like this on the source-level of the software is a major consideration in Linux. Hell, it’s one of the four fundamental freedoms of free software.

    And the “Three. Little. Buttons.” thing isn’t even on the level of changing the source code and recompiling, it’s a *PARAMETER* in a text file that can be changed with a command line entry that will change that parameter in that text file without ever having to find or edit that text file directly.

    Sheesh! The more I consider the people that complain about these things, the more uncertain I am whether the appropriate response would be to laugh or vomit. Regardless, the people that have complained about “The. Three. Little. Buttons.” have lost a huge amount of Linux-Geek-Whuffie over this.

    Remember, if you can’t support Linux by programming or writing documentation, you can support Linux by finding bugs and reporting them.

  6. cannonfodder says:

    A little late to the fight but that won’t stop me from adding my opinion.

    I am against the window button layout change for a very simple reason:

    I think GNU/Linux-based operating systems are superior to anything offered by Microsoft and seriously believe the world would be a better place if the latter were ditched for the former but this MAC-influenced button layout change works in Windows’ favour.

    Not only does it diverge enough from the de facto standard to throw off the average person but there really is no practical reason to re-ordering and re-positioning the window buttons.

    Its an annoying change that forces people to either recondition deeply-ingrained habits or implement a work-around beyond the skill-level of the common user.

    That age-old question about Linux being ready for the desktop? This issue ties into that and I’ll take a crack at answering it.

    Linux, despite being superior software, will never be ready for the desktop because its a techie’s OS and its rank and file user-base is comprised of elitist, RTFM, and ‘go forth and compile’ types.

Leave a Reply

