KDE or Openbox

I love KDE, and the latest release is better than ever. It’s easy, fast, beautiful, all that.

So when I installed Arch on another partition in another attempt to to find the cause behind those pesky network problems, and I slapped Openbox on it because I didn’t want to waste my bandwidth on a KDE install I’d never use, I certainly didn’t think I would consider using it full time.

But conky is getting better all the time, and I tried fbpanel just for the hell of it and thought it came out just fine…and there’s this wallpaper I found on the Arch forums I absolute loved, and that Buuf icon set is a work of art, and…

Well, just look at it and judge for yourself😉

Arch + Openbox: Clean

Arch + Openbox: DirtySan

9 Responses to KDE or Openbox

  1. Sam Weston says:

    Looks really nice and minimalist, just how I like my linux installs🙂 What are you using to get that analogue clock?

  2. celettu says:

    Sam:

    It’s conky🙂 Full details here: http://conky.linux-hardcore.com/?page_id=2780.

    If you’re using Arch, it needs the conky-lua package from AUR.

  3. Guilherme de Sousa says:

    is that terminal yakuake or tilda? and how about the clock?

    nice desktop by the way;)

  4. celettu says:

    Guilherme: it’s tilda. yakuake would drag in kde with it.
    For the clock: see above🙂

  5. Guilherme de Sousa says:

    I also use tilda.. without it I just feel I have too many terminals opened(:

    I didnt know about this new feature of conky that allows you to draw! nice:D!

    regards

  6. Trent says:

    I LOVE OpenBox. Great screenshots! 🙂

  7. Dean says:

    I just fell in love with that background/wallpaper … where can I find a copy …

  8. […] KDE or Openbox I love KDE, and the latest release is better than ever. It’s easy, fast, beautiful, all that. […]

Leave a Reply

