After Arch + KDE, there’s Arch with GNOME: KahelOS

I’m still happily running Chakra (essentially Arch + KDEmod), but browsing the Arch forums I discovered that Chakra isn’t the only distribution with Arch as its base. Meet Kahel OS, which combines Arch with GNOME.

Now, while Chakra is modest and states it’s essentially Arch with a few added tools (like an installer, GUI front-end for the package management, GUI config tools), Kahel OS claims it’s a whole new distribution. It isn’t…it’s a rebranded Arch, with GNOME added, using the Arch repositories and the Arch installer. If you clicked the link to the Arch forums, this rubbed a few people the wrong way.

I haven’t tried it yet, and I don’t think I will…simply installing Arch and adding GNOME myself is easier for me. But the idea is good…it’s surprising to me not more distributions use Arch as a base.

San

Leave a Reply

