Chromium in Linux is advancing nicely

I’ve installed “chromium-snapshot” from Arch’s AUR yesterday (means user contributed, unofficial packages), and I must say it’s come a long way. In the very beginning, this was described by the devs as a 500MB binary that displayed a window. I’m paraphrasing here, but you get the idea. Then it developed into something browserlike, but without tabs, or flash, or stability. Now it has all those things, plus it actually follows your GTK theme. Flash works, albeit a bit buggy. It’s the only thing that has been able to crash a page at this point. The browser itself hasn’t died on me yet.
In fact, the only thing I’ve noticed is that it’s a memory hog of biblical proportions. I have an openbox script that tells me how much memory my applications are using, and if it’s correct, with three tabs open Chromium needs ten processes, consuming 774 MB of RAM. That’s so much it’s hard to believe, and so far my 2GB RAM equipped PC doesn’t have trouble yet, but that rate, it will grind to a halt when I have the usual 5 to 10 tabs open.

In any case, this is of course still alpha software, but it’s advancing fast. Here’s a screenshot:

Chromium in Arch

Chromium in Arch

San

5 Responses to Chromium in Linux is advancing nicely

  1. […] Chromium in Linux is advancing nicely I’ve installed “chromium-snapshot” from Arch’s AUR yesterday (means user contributed, unofficial packages), and I must say it’s come a long way. In the very beginning, this was described by the devs as a 500MB binary that displayed a window. I’m paraphrasing here, but you get the idea. Then it developed into something browserlike, but without tabs, or flash, or stability. Now it has all those things, plus it actually follows your GTK theme. Flash works, albeit a bit buggy. It’s the only thing that has been able to crash a page at this point. The browser itself hasn’t died on me yet. […]

  2. David Gerard says:

    Yeah, that’s what I noticed on a Windows box with 1GHz P-III and 1GB memory – Chrome is made for the world of the future, in which Moore’s Law giving us BUCKETS OF MEMORY. Firefox is actually less fat.

    OTOH, you do get that tab separation, and one tab going bad doesn’t cripple your whole browser, like it does in Firefox. Everything is tradeoffs.

  3. Petros Malaka says:

    So, which is coming out first?

    The open source browser on an open source platform or
    Duke Nukem Forever?

  4. Wise One says:

    Do realize that each tab shares ram with another tab, and when you count the shared ram over again 3 times, it appears as if you have 775mb used. Chrome has it’s own memory manager, check that instead. It will accurately tell you how much ram a tab is using on its own.

  5. David Gerard says:

    @Wise One – I’m not talking about numbers, I’m talking about watching the hard disk light thrashing!

    Chrome is fatter. You get good stuff for your memory, but it costs memory.

Leave a Reply

