Mono? Enough already!

Shut up about Mono! Or Banshee. Or anything Mono related. Please!

It’s not like anybody is saying anything new either. I’ve read two-page blog posts which contained no information about Mono whatsoever, and instead replaced content with vague allegations about patents, Microsoft, followed by yells of FREEDOM! Think Braveheart here.

As far as I know, Mono is open source, and released under the GPL. As far as I know, Mono has been included in Ubuntu for three years now. Why are people yelling about it now? Because it became the latest internet hype, that’s why.

What’s the problem anyway? I’ve read something about “leaving us open to Microsoft patent attacks”. If that’s indeed the case, Microsoft has been keeping it well-honed sueing instincts in check surprisingly well these past three years.
And who’s “us” anyway? If Microsoft sues the distributions which include Mono by default (which I don’t believe for a second they will), I’m sure Ubuntu can handle it. If “us” is the end-user…ah, that means that all you Mono-raving rabbits in the US don’t install the resticted modules either? I’m sure you all buy your codecs at Fluendo and your entire music collection ends in .ogg.

And I just bitched an entire blog post about how I dislike people who use the internet for bitching. Drat.

San

4 Responses to Mono? Enough already!

  1. Wade Nelson says:

    “…all you Mono-raving rabbits in the US don’t install the resticted modules either? I’m sure you all buy your codecs at Fluendo and your entire music collection ends in .ogg.”

    Well said! I’ve been staying away from Mono myself, but I had to eat a little humble pie after reading that sentence.

  2. Matthew says:

    I got something new out of the fresh discussion of the topic. Which is that the Linux community should limit the patent litigation exposure whenever possible. While it is worthwhile to fight to have basic file-sharing support, for example, it is probably not worthwhile to be dependent on Mono, especially considering (a) how it is very unnecessary, and (b) Microsoft has a long, long history of using their patents to destroy their opponents. The one quote that really opened my eyes was, “You don’t wait for the wolf to eat the sheep before you start worrying about the wolf.”

  3. Matthew says:

    Post-Script…. Replace “basic file-sharing support” above with “MP3 file support” to match your example.

  4. Wise One says:

    Hey, I understand buying codecs is not helping anything, but .ogg has better audio compression then AAC

Leave a Reply

