My Arch needs updates

At the moment I’m using Arch and Openbox, and I love it. But the filesystem is ext3, and as I have said before, ext4 offers a real performance boost. Also, I haven’t installed the 64-bit version, and since Arch’s latest April Fool’s prank I’m convinced that I don’t need to install i686 anymore.

And I have some time to fill while I’m listening to the Belgian Soccer competition playing out, so I just downloaded the latest Arch iso image. Let’s try to install it to my free partition, and while Im’ at it, let’s try to use the latest KDE without installing gtk.

I don’t know why I keep doing stuff like this.

San

One Response to My Arch needs updates

  1. flammenwurfer says:

    “I don’t know why I keep doing stuff like this.”

    Haha, I say that to myself all the time.

    I’m running Arch with KDE 4.2 on EXT4 on my MSI Wind netbook and I’m getting excellent performance. I also run Arch 64 bit on my desktop and it works flawlessly. Good luck, but I doubt you’ll need it. 🙂

    PS. I would recommend installing with the latest Archboot ISO. That’s what I used and had a very good experience.

Leave a Reply

