Linux on the desktop: it’s so good it’s boring

I believe that at this point there no use anymore in asking the question “Is Linux ready for the desktop?”. It is, and it works so well it’s boring.

Mind you, I didn’t say Linux does all the stuff Windows or OS X does, or that it’s the best choice for everyone. It’s just that there are pros and contras to any operating system, and those of the best Linux distributions aren’t better or worse than those of its competitors.

But god, it’s boring. I don’t spend hours anymore trying to fix a problem, like getting a webcam to work or trying to figure out why there’s no sound. I have found my distribution of choice (Arch), and nothing else really comes close. I’m perfectly happy with KDE at the moment, so that means endlessly tinkering with the look and feel of Openbox is out too. In fact, the most interesting “new” application I use is Yakuake. It’s very useful, but not exciting no matter how you look at it.

I don’t even spend that much time in front of the computer anymore. I browse a bit, play Starcraft using wine, which needless to say works mind-numbingly well, and read comic books.

So, Linux on the desktop: it’s there!

Now what?

San

11 Responses to Linux on the desktop: it’s so good it’s boring

  1. lefty.crupps says:

    Funny, just last night my wife asked if I was ‘going to play on the computer’, and I couldn’t think of anything to do! You’re right, everything works these days, and works well. Even the newest FLOSS 3D drivers are working great.

    Next up, world domination.

    ===
    Debian Sid, KDE 4.3.4.

  2. EspenG says:

    I agree. Last night my daughter, who normaly uses Windows, used one laptop that I dispose ofr the moment. After using it in 5 minutes and doing what she wanted, she asked: “Is this Windows or Linux?”
    Actually it was Ubuntu netbook edition. But what surprised me was that she did’nt see the difference. I think it was because the OS did’nt stay in the way for what she wanted to do.

    ===
    Arch, Gnome, XFCE

  3. tmc says:

    Indeed, Arch (with Gnome) meant the end of the road for me, too. Was a nice trip, but is over. Sometimes I get excited when something goes wrong after upgrading it, but this happens only once in a while.

    Today I was delighted when I changed the motherboard battery and I had to play a little bit with time and data settings (OS data conflicted hwclock at boot).

    Honestly, in the past 2-3 years I managed everything with Arch excepting one case: three weeks ago I debricked (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash) a brand new router helped by XP (console). Now I think that could be done with linux too, but then I was in panic and haven’t patience to play only 10-12 hours with linux. Then I switched to XP, made some tweaks and I was ready in 30 minutes. That was a nice day :D

  4. KimTjik says:

    tmc wrote: “Sometimes I get excited when something goes wrong after upgrading it, but this happens only once in a while.”.

    That’s funny, but also true for me. Last time I had to think was when policykit hacks collided with consolekit, but it was too easy and when I understood how to start a consolekit session with Awesome it got utterly boring. Suddenly all mounting just worked without any hacks.

    When PHP package was split in separate packages and the configuration file changed once more, I thought: “ok, now I probably screw up my media system”. It didn’t.

    Ah, now I remember something I have to look into. I did encounter some issues with the latest changes in MySQL. At least I’ve got some few things to tinker with.

    (Arch+Awesome)

  5. [...] Linux on the desktop: it’s so good it’s boring I believe that at this point there no use anymore in asking the question “Is Linux ready for the desktop?”. It is, and it works so well it’s boring. [...]

  6. Sir Pent says:

    Isn’t the Mac OS based off of Linux? I use a Mac to record the drum parts that are used to make our free, downloadable LIZARDS FROM AFAR music:

    http://reverbnation.com/lizardsfromafar

  7. scott says:

    so does that mean its time to make games for it :)

  8. celettu says:

    Sir Pent: It’s based of BSD, which is similar.

    Scott: God I hope so :P

  9. most linux distro aren’t ready for desktop…
    i think ubuntu is most suitable distro for desktop

  10. Ed says:

    Great post,very enjoyable read,and I agree with most of what you say,and by the way,here is a great info about Starcraft 2 Guide

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

